October 13, 2009


  • Birthday (but not really.. yet)…. Soup?

    I used to have this conversation with my mom.. what’s the difference between soup and stew? I’m making .. soup… I have tomatoes, celery, onions, carrots, beef, green beans, peas, potatoes.  Well, I call it soup. Mom said that was stew because of the potatoes. (I guess because the potatoes can thicken it)

    It’s funny the things you remember when you cook. I remember when I was around 7, and we were discussing this, and I got out my Little Bear book (that was WAY older than I but my favorite book of the time).. and it had a story in it about Little Bear’s Birthday Soup. To back up my belief I listed all the ingredients in that “soup”.. which were: Carrots, Potatoes, Peas & Tomatoes. If it’s written in a book, it must be true, right? I was pretty darn proud of myself. Shortly after that, Mom said I could debate a rock… and win.

    Anywho.. I’m making some early birthday soup tonight.. complete with all the above and more. Don’t think Little Bear had Merlot for his soup.. or beef. .. DARNIT .. I forgot the lima beans.. bleah. Ah well.

    The soup is inspired by the recent cool weather. It’s getting chilly in IL. Makes me worry about the upcoming winter. Guess I should start coat shoppin!

    I hope you all are warm and safe…

Comments (5)

  • We make “stoup” a lot.  Sometimes we can’t decide which category to put it under, so it becomes a little bit of both.  For me, the thickness is usually the deciding factor, with the ingredients being an olio of whatever seems right at the time…

  • I think I must have some “bear” in my family background.  When the weather cools, all I want to do is put on weight and hibernate.  I had soup for lunch with lots o’ crackers.

  • I always thought the soup/stew line was one defined by the thickness of a brown broth.

    I also liked little bear.  Wasn’t there one where he was playing spaceman and visited preteneded to go into space and visit his “space mother” or something like that?

  • @solomon_grundie - That was one of the last stories in the book I had. He made a helmet out of a cardboard box if I remember correctly.. also a story about getting on his snow clothes. Gotta dig up that book. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *