October 11, 2009


  • Family Meals…

    I know it’s expected I’d be home sick…  but this caught me by surprise. A friend of mine IM’d me just a few minutes ago. He was bored and was just making small talk, made me feel better about a situation I’m having with a mutual friend of ours. I come to find out he’s out to dinner with his mom and dad and some of their friends. It hit me like a brick in the head. I told him how nice that must be and how I was jealous… and I was being honest.. I started to cry a bit. ‘Cause I couldn’t remember the last time I had a meal with my mom and dad both.. I have flashes of memories at campfires, or at a thanksgiving meal. But to just sit down, with your parents, and have a full meal… talking to each other. How freaking nice must that be? And how many people take it for granted? Way too many would be my guess.

    I envy you all, who are able to sit down and share time with loved ones. I truly do.

Comments (3)

  • Trust me, the value of such moments are not wasted on me.  Our situation is not one of the typical married couple, so Sierra and I realize that it doesn’t have to be a “going to Disneyland” experience every moment.  We take what we can get, but more importantly, don’t take it for granted.

    But you’re right.  I don’t think that kind of thing is realized until the situation is thrust upon someone, in whatever fashion that may be.  Perhaps it’s good to experience that for a while, just to steepen the appreciation.  So long as those circumstances don’t endure for too great a length of time…

  • You are so right about we humans taking certain “daily life” blessings for granted.  I am making a conscious effort to enjoy every minute of the little joys I find every day.  Maybe a flower or a bird, maybe a kind person.  No, those things are not as great as sitting down & sharing a meal with loved ones but they do count.  It may be hard for you to believe, but we are also family.  Even though you do not know me, I pray that the kindest love you have every known will come into your life.

  • @txmom - Ya know what? You and your entire family must be some of the most beautiful people in the world. So glad to know you all here. <3

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *