November 26, 2009


  • Happy Day

    I’m not going home for Thanksgiving this year. I was doing surprisingly well till a few days ago. I was on the fence about cooking… and decided I should or I’d feel more depressed. For the last 2 nights, I’ve left work.. shopped for thanksgiving dinner, walked in the door and started to prepare everything till I was so tired I had to sleep. On Tuesday night I baked 2 pies.. tonight I baked 2 more..  I made cranberry sauce..  almost started to cry because I almost couldn’t find butternut squash..  I made real mashed potatoes (sorta proud of those.. I always would make instant and doctored em up.. somehow fooling my brothers each year)… gonna make sweet potato casserole and not use canned yams this year…. I didnt have enough baking dishes for green bean casserole so I made a cucumber salad instead making up my own dressing (it’s really quite tasty). I… have a huge dinner for tomorrow (today I suppose) and no one’s coming to dinner… wtf is up for that? I feel compelled to bake.. cook… prepare… for…. ? I’m not sure what for. It’s starting to bother me. It’s not like Field of Dreams… “Bake It And They Will Come”… I’m worried I’ll just crash out tomorrow.. and i really don’t wanna do that.

    Anywho.. Happy Thanksgiving to you all. Hope you’re with someone you love

Comments (3)

  • *sneaks off with a slice of pie*

  • This year I had Thanksgiving dinner at a girlfriend’s house with all her family.  I thought I would be uncomfortable since I was the only non-relative there.  It was not the same as having my own family around but it was pleasant.  She wouldn’t take no for an answer when I just wanted to skip the whole thing.  Now I’m back home alone but I’m okay.  I hope you are okay too.  I don’t know why your life is like it is right now but I do know for a fact that God loves you just as He loves me.  Talked to my son in Iraq on FB today.  He is wondering how he will adjust when he comes home in Dec.  For the past yr. he has never gone anywhere without a weapon, has to consider everyone a possible enemy & knows that he might not make it home.  Iraq must be hell.  I’m thankful that I don’t live there & that he will be home soon.

  • you know, Ray & I have always done thanksgiving proper – even if it’s just the two of us (which it usually is).

    it doesn’t feel right without all the trimmings.  we tried to skip the process a couple of years ago and wound up craving those food about 2 weeks later.

    *shrugs*

    our kitchen looks like a  bomb went off in it, but we’ll have leftovers for WEEKS.

    happy thanksgiving!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *