June 30, 2010

  •  

    Burn Baby Burn? 

    St. Louis Pride and Punishment…. ?

     

    So I inadvertently did something very stupid. But I’ll get to that in a moment.

    I went to the Pride Parade in St. Louis with my friend (he is gay) from work and all the friends I’ve met via him. They all happen to be gay, go figure! We’ve been talking about a trip to St. Louis for a few months, as he’s originally from there. So he and his friends invited me to Pride.We went to see the Archers, of course.There was a random wedding party at the base, they were quite lovely. The water is VERY high. People are supposed to be able to get to the Helipad for tours. And I was… pale.

    We had a blast, my friends here are awesome. We went to Pasta House Company for dinner, I saw the arch, went up in it (however it took waaaaaayyyyyy too long.. got there at 7, not able to go up till 8:40 and wasn’t able to get down till 10pm… scary, huh?) Had fun regardless. My friend Jeremy made a pretty dress out of his bed sheet (he was next door, I shared a room with my coworker friend and his boyfriend). I thought Jeremy had a pretty bow. Also Jeremy’s man, whose name also happens to be Jeremy, totally looks better in my outfit than I do.

     

    The next day was Pride (Sunday) so we grabbed breakfast at Courtesy Diner, some hole in the wall place with great food… and headed to some park near the main
    street where the Parade would be.

     

    I figured we’d get very close, however it was about a 20 min walk (felt so much longer, Sunday was HORRIBLY hot and humid down there). I was miserable and my hair was dripping wet. So I put it up in a bun with my scrunchy to let it dry a bit. Now mind you, I’d only put sunblock on my face and arms (pre-sweating) We thought we’d be there for an hour or so max. Ended up being 3 + hours. There were a ton of beautiful and interesting people there and some very cool sites to see.

     

    I had a lot of fun, people were awesome… found a tattoo I love, I think I want something similar. Can one have more than 1 phoenix tattoo?

    I lost my cellphone, fell out of my purse, however a nice person turned it in to the security, immediately and I got it back. Gave them my favorite set of beeds I collected from the Parade. To celebrate my found phone, I had a coconut drink, carved to look like a monkey.

    I also met a nice lady with a pretty snake while I waited for afore mentioned monkey drink.

    After the 100000 mile walk back to the car I looked pretty miserable.

      

    Finally we made it to Imo’s (pronounced emo’s apparently… no the pizza’s were not covered in black olives and they did not cut themselves). I was thanking the Creator left and right for the Air Conditioning and Ice Water tho. The red was really setting in but I was cooler from being inside.

    On the way home, we saw some neat storms around us but never ON us. 

     

    I had to go to Urgent Care on Tuesday, the burn had progressed so badly I had blisters on my shoulders… not just a few but well over 100, that were tiny and fewer on Monday but by Tuesday they expanded  and were pushing together. Doctor gave me Prednizone, Hydrocodone &  Atarax. I popped a few (just 3 of the many) of the blisters yesterday and tonight (I know it’s bad but they were gonna pop while I slept, and I was able to open them cleanly and clean the area properly.. also was unable to move my arm till after they were opened). Tonight I’m very drugged and very happy… and I actually have my hair down for the 1st time since.. Sunday.

     

     

    That’s it … as I’ve fallen asleep maybe 12 times trying to post this.  The last pics were done with my new web cam.. so clear (but smaller). 

     

    Hope you’re well and remember.. sunblock.

Comments (4)

  • Yeeeee-ouch!

    Sorry.  As a dutch-irish schmuck, I can only cringe when I see the red upon your shoulders. 

    But you do pouty very well…

  • Looks like despite everything, you still had a pretty good time.  I’ve never been to St Louis or to a pride parade… looks very interesting!  Hope you heal soon.  Sun burn/poisoning is horrible.

  • Ouch !

    Speaking as somebody who only needs to glimpse a ray of light for his skin to start bubbling, I sympathise wholeheartedly.

    Although I also have to point out that it’s much funnier when it happens to somebody else.

  • I empathize wholeheartedly.   You’ve got skin like me and I wear long sleeves and a hat all summer.

    Pale is in!  Take care of your skin!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *